Jeanne Shaheen on Technology

Previously Democratic Governor (NH); candidate for Senate 2008

Focus on brainpower, not horsepower, via more education

The new economy of the 21st century is run on brainpower, not horsepower. In this economy, success is built on ideas, innovation and information -- and the foundation for this new economy is education. The major limit to our continued growth is a shortage of skilled workers. We will not be able to meet the needs of New Hampshire business in the 21st century by importing workers. Instead, we must focus our efforts on improving the skills of our students and our existing workforce. We must ensure that our children, no matter where they live, have the skills and education to allow them to take full advantage of the opportunities offered by this high-tech, global economy. And that means we must make the commitment and the investment necessary to improve our schools.

We must recognize that improving education is the single most important issue we face. Nothing else that we do here will have a greater impact on New Hampshireís success or failure in this new century.

Source: Inaugural Address to New Hampshire Legislature , Jan 4, 2001

Cooperate with Canada on regional info tech workforce.

Shaheen signed the New England Governors' Conference resolution:

Source: NEG/ECP Resolution 26-6: Joint Information Workforce 01-NEGC6 on Aug 28, 2001

Create International Northern and Biotechnology Corridor.

Shaheen signed the New England Governors' Conference resolution:

Source: NEG/ECP Resolution 23-6: Biotechology Corridor 98-NEGC6 on Jun 9, 1998

Other governors on Technology: Jeanne Shaheen on other issues:
NH Gubernatorial:
John Lynch
NH Senatorial:
Kelly Ayotte

Newly seated 2010:
NJ Chris Christie
VA Bob McDonnell

Term-limited as of Jan. 2011:
AL Bob Riley
CA Arnold Schwarzenegger
GA Sonny Perdue
HI Linda Lingle
ME John Baldacci
MI Jennifer Granholm
NM Bill Richardson
OK Brad Henry
OR Ted Kulongoski
PA Ed Rendell
RI Donald Carcieri
SC Mark Sanford
SD Mike Rounds
TN Phil Bredesen
WY Dave Freudenthal
Newly Elected Nov. 2010:
AL: Robert Bentley (R)
CA: Jerry Brown (D)
CO: John Hickenlooper (D)
CT: Dan Malloy (D)
FL: Rick Scott (R)
GA: Nathan Deal (R)
HI: Neil Abercrombie (D)
IA: Terry Branstad (R)
KS: Sam Brownback (R)
ME: Paul LePage (R)
MI: Rick Snyder (R)
MN: Mark Dayton (D)
ND: Jack Dalrymple (R)
NM: Susana Martinez (R)
NV: Brian Sandoval (R)
NY: Andrew Cuomo (D)
OH: John Kasich (R)
OK: Mary Fallin (R)
PA: Tom Corbett (R)
RI: Lincoln Chafee (I)
SC: Nikki Haley (R)
SD: Dennis Daugaard (R)
TN: Bill Haslam (R)
VT: Peter Shumlin (D)
WI: Scott Walker (R)
WY: Matt Mead (R)
Civil Rights
Foreign Policy
Free Trade
Govt. Reform
Gun Control
Health Care
Homeland Security
Social Security
Tax Reform

Contact info:
Fax Number:
Mailing Address:
Senate Office SH-520, Washington, DC 20510
Phone number:
(202) 224-2841

Page last updated: Nov 23, 2011